Muffins! Hold the muffin top.

Lord knows I LOVE to bake. When it is someone’s birthday, or something exciting like that, I bring out the crowd pleasers. I don’t spare the calories and fat, I pull out all the stops. Butter, refined sugar, etc. However, the truth is, I will never be one of those gals who doesn’t eat what they bake within 2 days over time, and I’m not the young, calorie burning machine that I once was. So at home, when I decide at 9pm that we need some muffins for the week’s breakfast, I have to pull out the other stops. Healthy, non pound packing stops.
Last night at Costco, 2 things happened. 1. I guessed our total within $1 from what it ended up being just by looking at the cart (Aaron, the money man, was $60 off..whoops!). That’s a talent, I think. 2. I walked by the Laffy Taffy, and resisted ripping open the bag to eat 100 banana flavored pieces. So something banana flavored it had to be…minus the corn syrup, and junk.
SO, here they are. Banana muffins with no butter, flour, or refined sugar.
For starters, you need to make sure your bananas are baking ready. They should look like this (mine were in the fridge, so they are a little more brown than normal. Now preheat that oven to 400 degrees.

IMG_5769

Then, get out your food processor and let’s get to it.

Put 2 1/2 cups of steel cut oats (you can use regular if you’re not sensitive to them) in food processor, and pulse for about 20 seconds, or until it looks like this:

IMG_5772

Next, add 1 cup of greek yogurt of your choice. My favorite is Greek Goddess Honey Yogurt. It is so creamy and delicious. Watch out, you may get hooked.

IMG_5768

Next, add in:

2 ripe bananas

1 egg

2 1/2 T ground flaxseed

1 t gluten free vanilla

1 t baking soda

2 t baking powder

1/4 cup honey (if you like sweet, or if you use plain greek yogurt, add 1/2 cup)

Blend these ingredients together until batter smoothes out about 50%.

At this point, you can bake these delish muffins in a greased muffin tin for 16-18 minutes. BUT I did something a little different. I wanted to try a few different ways to spice these up for picky eaters in the family. So I separated the batter into thirds.

IMG_5774

I left 1/3 plain, added dark chocolate chips to 1/3, and added 1/8 cup almond butter to the final 1/3 and blended it some more.

Somehow, every time I make a muffin batter myself, I end up with 11. Never fails.

IMG_5776

I baked these for 17 minutes, and transferred to a cooling rack immediately.

IMG_5783

Tada! I plan to post a verdict on which one was my favorite after I’ve tried all three. You could really mix in whatever you’d like, get creative!

I’d love to hear what you mix into your muffins! Please do share so that myself, and my readers can get some fresh ideas!

Shopping List:

2 bananas

Vanilla

Eggs

Ground flax seed

Baking soda

Baking powder

Greek yogurt

Honey

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Bake Time: 16-18 minutes

Happy baking, and I hope you enjoy!

 

7 thoughts on “Muffins! Hold the muffin top.

  1. I can confirm that you can make these in a (heavy duty) blender and with not ripe bananas. I couldn’t wait! I also didn’t pay attention to how full you filled your muffin cups and so I ended up with 18 muffins. They are so good – I just sampled a plain one (made a few plain) and added ghirardelli dark chocolate chips to the rest (you know, for the antioxidant properties of dark chocolate). I do wonder if they will be sweet enough for the boys – probably the ones with chocolate chips will be. Ronan tried a bit of batter (yes there was egg in there – bad mom moment #3678) and I got atwo thumbs up – so they are sure to be a hit. It is a bit frightening his quickly I was able to whip these up….

    • Awesome! 18 muffins, huh? Maybe YOU should be the on writing the baking section 😉
      Ronan has good taste, he should be the profesh batter sampler if you ask me!
      Nice work lady, now go eat em all up!

Leave a Reply

