(Almost) a year in business, a survey, and last night’s quickie dinner!

Happy Wednesday, friends! After getting home late last night, I did some reflecting on the last year. But first, I needed a super quick dinner, to convince my husband that I’ve got this all under control.  I was craving buffalo sauce (which is typical), and Aaron mentioned a chicken salad that I often make to put on crackers, or sandwiches. In a house with a celiac, there is generally no bread, so I opened the fridge, and pulled out a bag of romaine hearts. Lettuce wraps anyone? This way we can have our buffalo chicken sauce, as well as the chicken salad. Now this is no genius meal, but when you need a quickie solution one day, you’ll thank me.

Here’s what I did:

  1. Boil 1 lb of chicken breasts for 8 minutes (or until done) – this makes them juicy without adding any oil while cooking them on the stove top.
  2. Shred cooked  chicken, and separate into 2 bowls
  3. Add 2 T buffalo sauce, 1/8 t garlic powder, and chopped celery to one bowl
  4. Add 2 T mayo, or we use spicy mayo at our house, and chopped celery to second bowl
  5. Chop up veggies of your choice, or cheese to top lettuce wraps with. We used avocados, and tomatoes!
  6. Put whichever ingredients you choose into a romaine heart, roll up like a lettuce wrap, and enjoy! You can also add blue cheese or ranch to your buffalo wrap! Yum.

Congratulations, Amanda. You win best wife of the year award for having dinner on the table at 8:50 pm. Well done. But here’s how they turned out, and Aaron still seemed pleased, and I got my buffalo sauce, therefor all was right in the world. Here are the cute little wraps:

photo

Now, let’s recap this past year:
For those of you who don’t know, I am a hairdresser. I have spent the last 10 years of my career (What?!) exploring all areas of the industry. It’s been amazing. Aside from working behind the chair every day with amazing clients, and next to some extremely talented stylists, I have worked behind the scenes of hair shows, and photo shoots as  hairdresser, as well as a make-up artist,

26529_1432198405477_7836963_n 216171_7590960607_8619_n 429776_3409531723978_53024384_n

been lucky enough to do hair and makeup for a large number of weddings for clients, friends, and family,

554612_10151445471653402_77208288_n 310456_585446284118_756911139_a 409048_10100562959566479_419691059_n

and lastly, I have spent countless hours in the classroom, and in salons, teaching as much as I know to other stylists, and students who are on their way to becoming a cosmetologist. I know they say ‘those who can’t do, teach’, but really, my experience in this industry has just been so amazing, I feel like it is only fair that I pass on all of the knowledge that someone else has taken the time to help ME gain. I LOVE teaching, and at this point, I only wish I had more time to do so. (I never thought I’d say that after at one time spending close to 80 hours a week at the Aveda Institute)

Aveda opened so many doors for me, and given me to tools to be the hairdresser, and professional that I am today.

Last August, I took the plunge, and decided that it was time to get out on my own. I found my very own studio, and wrote out a plan of what I wanted MY business to look like. Flexible for clients, offering any services that would benefit my clients, being accountable, available, and consistent. Not being so rushed, as I have been in salons in the past working on 3 clients at once, with only 1 assistant to help me. Being fair and understanding, and growing relationships with my clients in an environment where they felt comfortable, and valued.

Now add in hundreds of clients who I had built relationships with over the years. Would they stay loyal to their stylist, me, or to their salon of choice? I was overwhelmed with kindness and loyaty from them, and am busier than every after the first year of owning my own small business. I couldn’t be happier with my choice, and am so excited to see where this business takes me. I know that this year alone, I will have my most successful year yet, and do hair and makeup for 21 weddings!

Now, I need a little help from you readers! A little survey to find out your favorite, and least favorite parts about your hairdresser, and some things that could help me be a better professional to all of my clients, probably including some of you! I would be so happy if you would take the time to fill this out, it’s completely anonymous. 🙂
http://bakingupbeauty.polldaddy.com/s/what-is-a-good-haircut

Have a great day everyone!!

Leave a Reply

