Messy half up-do tutorial!

Happy Thursday everyone! It’s getting HOT here in Denver, but I’m loving it.

Have you ever woken up, and after showering and NOT washing you hair, realized that it’s way too a bit dirty, and probably should have been washed? No? I’m the only one? Well, that’s no secret. The truth is, I LIKE messy looking hair. I am a firm believer that hair should look a little undone. Time to problem solve, and make this hair look presentable for the day, so that people trust me when I am doing their hair.

A messy half up, half down style can be used on messy hair, or perfectly curled hair to dress it up a bit! This is an easy style, that can ALSO be done on clean hair. If you’re a day or two out from your last shampoo, start with some dry shampoo. I recommend Batise, or Dirty Little Secret by Tigi. Your hair can be straight, or curled, or curly. OR in this case, curled a few days ago and slept on. Here we go.

You will need a paddle brush, or flat brush of some sort, 6 bobby pins (maximum), and hairspray.

IMG_5814

Now, make a deep part on whichever side you hair like to part on. If you’re into the center part right now, which I love, you could do a center part here as well.

IMG_5815

Start with a 3 inch x 2 inch section t the crown of your head. This is where you will have the most volume, so grab the section that you like to see your hair the biggest.

IMG_5819

Begin backcombing or ‘teasing’ this section. Using the brush, stroke inward, and downward toward your head, in a circular motion. Inward and down, out and back around.

IMG_5820

IMG_5823

IMG_5824

Make sure you are not just pushing the brush up and down. This will just remove any backcombing you’ve done. REMEBER, only backcomb what you know you can smooth out, so I would start with a little bit, and smooth the top section as you go. Gently graze over the very top of this section to smooth it just a bit so it has volume, but doesn’t look ratty, like this: (disclaimer, ignore all faces I make, now I know what I look like in the mirror to my clients…yikes!)

IMG_5826

Repeat this same action now on either side of you part. You should be able to do the side that your hair is parted on in one section,

IMG_5827

however, you may want to break up the larger side into 2 sections to get the most volume  for your ‘swept’ side.

IMG_5829 IMG_5832

Look at that volume. Now, lets get that hair up and outta your face.

Let’s again start in section 1. Going back to the first section you backcombed. Pinch the 2 outside corners of this section together, and slightly twist. Hold it right in place centered in the back of your head. The key here is to pin right where you are holding. This insures that it will look exactly as it does when you are holding it and looking at it. Open the bobby pin, place it at the bottom of the pinched area where your fingers are, and push it UP toward the top of your head. Always think against the grain with bobby pins, this will give you a super right hold with 1 pin only.

IMG_5833IMG_5834

Section 1 is complete. Now, you’ll want to swoop section 2, the second section you backcombed (the smaller one on the side of your head in which you part), back and around the area that you just pinned. Imagine wrapping it over top of the pinned area. Twist it around to the opposite side of your head than the side it came from, pinch, and pin in the same manner. UP, and against the grain.

IMG_5836IMG_5839

Now, repeat this same step on the other side. Pull it down, and across so that you get a bit of a swoop in the front, if you like that look. You’ll wrap this side over the top of your last 2 sections, for your final pinned section. Same pinning technique.

IMG_5844IMG_5864

IMG_5865

Now, make sure that you’ve got all the volume that you wanted. If not, gently tug at the top layer of the area that you’d like to be a bit higher, OR you can pull a few random pieces to make it a bit messier, like I am doing here.

IMG_5849

Now, a little spray. Or a whole lotta spray. I prefer the latter. Viola! Now for a side and front view.

IMG_5868IMG_5867

Doesn’t look so dirty, right? So give it a shot! This should be easy, and my best advice it do it, spray it, and walk away. Generally, the more you fuss with it, the worse it gets. Hope you all love this one.

If you love fresh herbs like I do, you’re probably growing some right now. I, however, have never grown anything. So when the building manager of our studios, and friend Mo (who is a reader here at Baking Up Beauty), had some extra, she brought them to me! I was so pumped. I have never cooked with fresh herbs from someone’s garden that I know. Breathe, I DID just say that. So she gave me some rosemary, basil, and parsley. Yum, yum, and yum. I decided not to let it get complicated, and make a simple Rosemary and Garlic Chicken and Potatoes. Here it is!

We’ll start with the potatoes. Go preheat that oven, 375, go!

  1. Wash, and cube 2 potatoes. Leave the skin on, yum.
  2. Pour 1 T of coconut oil (or olive oil) into a large ziplock bag, and add cubed potatoes.
  3. Chop  up 2 cloves of garlic, and 1 sprig of rosemary, or 1 T of dried rosemary, and add to bag.
  4. Seal the bag, and shake it all together until all the potatoes are coated.
  5. Stick these in a smaller glass pan, and in the oven to bake, they need 15 more minutes that your chicken will. (35 minutes total)

IMG_5795IMG_5796

Now, the chicken.

  1. Lay 1.5 lbs worth of thawed chicken breasts in a 8×8 in. pan.
  2. Sprinkle 1 T of lemon juice over the top of the chicken. This will add flavor and give the rosemary and garlic something to stick to.
  3. Chop the 2 cloves or garlic, and 1 sprig of rosemary (or 1 T of dried rosemary) again, an spread this mixture over the top of the chicken.
  4. Stick this in the oven for 20 minutes. (Always make sure chicken is done.)

IMG_5797

Now that’s an Iowan cooking dinner. Meat and potatoes! This was a delicious dinner. I DID have to eat it one handed, while soaking 4 fingers from the other hand in cold water. You see, one of my friends. Elyse, had a baby last night, and when Aaron came in to hand me the phone, saying ‘it’s Elyse!’, I got so excited and distracted, that I gabbed the pan, bare handed, and got it up to the stove top and actually threw it onto the stove. Elyse is such a super human birthing mom, that I thought I had super powers too. I was wrong.

IMG_5801

#ouch #Ineedthosefingers #blistercity

But these guys were so relieved I was ok. As you can see, they were genuinely concerned about where I would sleep after such a hard night.

IMG_5800 IMG_5805

I know that I am ready for the weekend. Bring on the first day of summer, and a busy Friday and Saturday of clients. I hope to see lot’s of Facebook posts of messy half-up do’s here soon. Make me proud, readers! See ya tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Messy half up-do tutorial!

  1. The problem with dirty hair is that I can’t stand myself and must wash it – so doing an up do (or half up do) isn’t going to happen. But – I love yours!! You cracked me up with your ‘congratulations Amanda, you win wife of the year award. Well done.’ comment. That was one fancy dinner for a late night! But I love buffalo sauce too so I am sure to make it sometime! And that chicken and potatoes looks soooo good!!!!

    • OK, OK I’ll do some clean hair tutorials. Just as SOON as I get around to washing MY hair 😉
      I LOVE buff sauce too, although… I don’t realllyyy know what it’s made of, ya know? The chicken and potatoes were soooo easy. First tome cooking with rosemary, and I didn’t mess it up! You must try 🙂

Leave a Reply

