‘Merica!

Hey, folks! Roundin out the long weekend here, and I can’t tell you how glad I was to have it. I hope you all did something fun, or better yet, a weekend FULL of fun things! I love seeing everyone’s pictures from their trips, and BBQs. Nothin says ‘Merica like a B-B-Q!

Us? We stayed in town this weekend! I had Wednesday – Tuesday off, so naturally I wanted to get out of town. Luckily, I had a better surprise…my Aunt Carolyn and Grandma Kaye were coming to visit from Iowa! So here’s a little breakdown of what we did instead.

Thursday, Aaron and I broke out our rusty volleyball skills as Wash Park with some friends. This place is certified loco on Saturdays, let alone on a holiday. Everyone was dressed in their red, white and blue, and playing volleyball, bags, and a new game I learned about on the 4th, slap can. We played a few good games, and just about the time I had gotten my massive overhand underhand serve down, we had to head home and get things ready for a BBQ at our house that evening. It was a ‘Merica theme…and people went all out! We loved it. Hilarious USA, and American Flag shirts, even a jean jacket with a flag on the back! It was awesome. I made turkey burgers, and gluten-free pasta salad (that I am still eating today), and we have some awesome sides and desserts. Some people brought cupcakes. LOTS of cupcakes. One of our friends, Adam brought his over a night early, so naturally I had one for breakfast.
IMG_6131 IMG_6130
But more importantly, people climbing on the roof to get a better view of the fireworks, and some from-the-bottle whiskey drinking. ‘Merica.

We truly have some of the most fun, funniest friends in the world. It was a great night just lounging on the patio with all of them. Here are some pictures of our fancy outfits and such, as well as the recipe for the pasta salad! Yum!

IMG_6138 IMG_6147 IMG_6149 IMG_6158 IMG_6165 IMG_6162 IMG_6164

Drop by tomorrow for the story of 4 Italian women cooking and drinking wine in my little ol’ kitchen, and a wonderful story about a woman who wandered into my studio last week.

Pasta Salad

16 oz gluten free penne

1/2 c Italian Dressing

1/2 c Caesar Dressing

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1/2 green pepper

1/2 red pepper

1/ block cheddar cheese, cubed

Cook pasta according to directions on package. Rinse with cold water. Add dressings, peppers, cheeses, and whatever else you’d like to garnish it with. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour. The key ingredient here is the Italian/Caesar combo, it really gives it a pop! Enjoy!

IMG_6132

Leave a Reply

