Blueberry Crisp!

Blueberries. I understand that they are a super food. Maybe not when they’re baked in sugary, buttery goodness, but surely they keep some nutritious value.

Regardless, I decided to make a super simple dinner, so I could whip up something sweet and delicious to have this week. I found some blueberries on sale (that’s the only way I’ll buy them), and as you know, add a little oatmeal to anything and I’ll be happy. These are what I call cabinet creations. Digging into the cabinet to see what I can make with the ingredients that I already have, avoiding going to the store.

So here it is! And it is just a tasty as I dreamed.

Start by preheating your oven to 350, and grabbing one container of blueberries.

IMG_0168

Now, mix together 1/8 cup of sugar, 2 t corn starch, and 1 t lemon juice. pour mixture over blueberries in a glass baking dish, and stir everything until the blueberries are coated.

IMG_0170

Now it’s time to make your topping. The best part.

In a bowl, combine 1/2 stick of butter, softened, 1/2 c oats (whatever type you’d like), 1/8 c gluten free flour (I used coconut flour, you could use ANY type), 1/8 C brown sugar, 1 T honey, and 1 t cinnamon. Mix these ingredients together until they are crumbly, and crumble over the top of blueberry mixture. I may or may not have added extra cinnamon because I was craving something cinnamon-y,  but I’d stick to 1 t.

Bake this beauty in your preheated oven for 45 minutes.

SO, so delish. I may try it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream tomorrow night. There is just no telling. Yum, yum, yum. Try it, you’ll love it! Clearly, I did…

IMG_0173 IMG_0172

Til tomorrow, ya’ll! (I spent the weekend with some Texans, it felt appropriate)

One thought on “Blueberry Crisp!

Leave a Reply

