The other white meat…

Happy Sunday everyone! Hope you all had a wonderful weekend! I had a super fun weekend, tons of different stuff going on. Some of the normal weekend activities. wedding hair and make-up, walking the boxers at the rescue. It’s a good thing they won’t adopt a female boxer to a family who already has a female boxer, or Sissy would have come home with us. She is shy, tail tucked down, and ears back, until her feet hit the grass. She was ready to run and totally in her element. And just. so. sweet. She nuzzled up to my face, and melted my heart.

IMG_0480

That’s Cassidy in the pool. He (I know, Cassidy for a male?) is only 1, and FULL of energy. I had to take a picture because I have never seen a boxer purposely go into the water.

Aaron walked another male boxer, Titan, and he much have wore him out just enough, because the family that came to visit him when we returned….adopted him!!!! He has a forever home now, like every dog should!

IMG_0482

I also watched a LOT of golf. Women’s golf. This sounds crazy, unless you already know that I had the amazing opportunity to style the USA women’s golf team on Thursday for the opening ceremonies of the Solheim cup, the most elite tournament in women’s golf. It happened to be held not only in the US this year….but in Parker, Colorado! I did sneak a few pics, although we were asked not to. I got to style Brittnay Lincicome, Brittnay Lang, Gerina Piller, Angela Stanford, and spend a long time talking with Paula Creamer. It was incredible. All in all they were a super laid back, and sweet group of ladies. So talented! I was so thankful to be given that opportunity!

IMG_0444 IMG_0441 IMG_0442 IMG_0446

Now, it is no secret that I love meat. My favorite? Pork! Spoken like a true Iowan, right? Tonight, I found some tasty looking pork chops at Whole Foods, and was inspired by the menu that I saw for the wedding I did hair and makeup for today. It was a apple glazed something or other pork chop. So I gave it a shot. Now, you’ll notice there are no photos. The Dijon mustard and thyme gave to sauce a funkadelic color that I couldn’t bare to post. But scarf them down I did. And my Iowa-ish husband too.

Here’s how it’s done! Preheat your oven to 375!

Place you chops (mine were about an inch thick) in a baking dish in 1/4 cup water, or broth of your choice for moisture.

In a bowl, combine 1/3 cup applesauce, 1 t ground thyme, and 1 T Dijon mustard. Spread this mixture over top of your chops, and bake for 25-30 minutes, depending on the thickness of your pork.

These have a delicious sweetness to them, with a kick from the Dijon. What a quick and easy dinner, with a different flavor! Enjoy!

Have a great week, everyone!

Leave a Reply

