What is this cleanse thing?

Happy Hump Day everyone! We’re halfway almost to the long weekend.

A few of my blog posts, as well as a few of my conversations, have mentioned a cleanse that I recently tried. The truth is, I had gained almost 10 pounds in a year. There. It’s out. As if it weren’t slightly obvious. In reality, I had turned my eating around back to where it should be, which kept me from gaining any longer, but I was just maintaining, and I was maintaining a weight that I wasn’t comfortable with. I had to make a change. I couldn’t plot how to stay in a swimsuit cover up all summer.

I knew about a great product through my aunt, Erica, and she had so many wonderful things to say about it. It has helped she and my uncle get healthy, as well as lose weight. She loves it. It was time for me to try it. It is called Advocare, and there is so much to say about it. They have so many great products, including vitamins, supplements, bars, shakes, you name it! I wasn’t sure where to start, but I soon figured it out, with the help from another believer, Jill. I saw her a few weeks ago and she just looked so great, I had to know her secret. It was the 24 Day Challenge.

The 24 Day Challenge is a great way to cleanse your body of toxins, by eliminating sugar, caffeine, dairy, and wheat, as well as adding in some amazing supplements to help the cleansing process. The first 10 days are a cleanse. Within 24 hours, I felt an amazing increase in my energy, and focus, and I wasn’t crashing mid day, leaving me craving sugar and caffeine like I used to. For me, sugar and coffee were the hardest. Wheat is already out of my life, and I have given up dairy before. So I hid the blocks of cheddar, and went for it.  I laid out and labeled all of my supplements, as well as the super helpful guide they sent along, got excited about making smoothies, and started in on a Monday.

IMG_0453 IMG_0455

On day 1, I weighed in, and took measurements on about 10 different areas of my body, including waist, hips, thighs *shutter*, and arms. I replaced my morning coffee with Spark energy drinks, an my breakfast with meal replacement shakes, because I loved them 16 days in, that drinking these two things is still my favorite part of the morning!

As far as diet goes, it’s simple. Raw foods, period. Fruits, veggies, protein including meat, eggs nuts and seeds, and you can even add in a few grains such as quinoa and oats. I try to limit 1/2 serving of those per about every other day. I have never felt hungry, and the healthier I have eaten, the LESS I have craved foods that aren’t great for me. Here is what an average day of food looks like for me.

Breakfast: Meal replacement shake. Mocha flavored, so it feels like I’m having coffee 😉

Snack: Hard boiled egg and some raw peppers or a large piece of fruit

Lunch: Arugala and Spinach salad with Chicken, almonds, and oil and vinegar

Snack: smoothie – 1/2 banana, 1 cup blueberries, 1/8 cup greek yogurt, and ice

Dinner: Salmon with cilantro, cumin, and paprika, with a small salad or raw veggies

Day 11, it’s weigh in time again. 5 pounds down, which got me super pumped up. But the best part hadn’t happened yet. Aaron read my first measurement for that day, my waist which has always been my problem area, and it was 2.5 inches down. Hips? Same thing. I even lost an inch in each thigh. I had lost a total of 16 inches all over my body. I felt so proud. This was an amazing start for me. I mean, I was half way to my weigh loss goal in 10 days!

This is the kind of motivation that I love. The excitement of how I felt got me through days 1-10, but those results have pushed me through the last 6 days. I don’t weigh in again until day 24, but I am excited about having my clothes closer to the way they fit before 🙂

These products have done so much more than help me lose weight, they have also helped me eliminate the part of my diet that was hurting me the most, sugar. I feel better about all around being in better health. I have journeyed out to explore some other Advocare products, and I have yet to try one that I don’t love. I find myself talking about it so passionately, because its a product I truly believe in. I have a few friends who are starting their challenge in the next week, as well as Aaron. He has been so supportive, and I am super excited for all of these folks to experience how great they will feel.

If you’re interested in reading about these products, please feel free to visit this website, where you can ready a LOT more about the products, as well as see product information pages for each and every product. It’s a great site!

https://www.advocare.com/130829158/default

More smoothies, yum! Have a great Thursday, friends!

IMG_0615 IMG_0614

 

 

One thought on “What is this cleanse thing?

  1. I am so excited Amanda, you feel the way I do about these products! I have been on these products since 2009 and would never turn back! More energy, have lost more than 50 pounds, and have had A LOT less trips to the doctor, because of the vitamins and HEALTHY food, I am now putting into my body! So proud of your results, thus far honey! Here’s to a healthy Advocare future! Love you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

