Strawberry madness

Wednesday, everyone! I know that by now, you probably think that WordPress must have sent you a notification stating that I posted a blog by accident, because it’s been so long, but it’s true! It’s me!

I made some super easy, super excellent strawberry muffins over the weekend. I am not ready to let go of cheap summer berries on and in everything quite yet, but it was a perfect day for baking. I am also finally getting the hang on sugar substitutes, so I’ll share a great conversion key with you as well.

So, preheat that overt to 400 degrees, and let’s get started.

Grab yourself a food processor, or a blender, whatever you prefer. I melted our food processor in the dishwasher the other night..so this was my last use of that bad boy, looks like I’m moving to the blender. A smarter friend later mentioned to me that I probably shouldn’t put that in the dish washer 🙂

Wash, and Cut up 1 1/2 c worth of strawberries.

Add your strawberries, plus 2 1/2 c certified gluten free oats, 1 c fat free greek yogurt, 2 eggs, 1t baking soda, 1 t baking powder. Now let’s think about your sugar. If you prefer real sugar add 1 cup. If you use a sugar that measures just like sugar, such as erythitol, use 1 cup as well. If honey or agave is your choice of sweetener, use 1/2-2/3 c. I haven’t got around to working with Stevia or Truvia yet, so stay tuned. I used 1 cup of erythitol here in these muffins, and while it seemed like I was dumping in a TON, they were perfect! Now blend or pulse until this mixture is nice and smooth.

NOW, I strongly recommend not using paper baking cups with these- they are a little tricky to peel off when there isn’t flour involved. So either use a silicon muffin tin, or tin foil cups. Pour that batter on in, and for once, I got 15 muffins, rather than 11. It’s not 12, but I’m getting there. 😉

Bake for 23 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. (Am I the only one who still uses that technique?)

I knew I was going to love these when the batter tasted  looked like a strawberry milkshake.

photo (1) photo (2)

They are delish and I’ve been munchin on em all week. About 78 calories per muffin…cha ching!

Have a great day everyone! I promise more posts this week. Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

