‘Tis the season!

Hey everyone! Hope you had a great weekend!

‘Tis the season for what, you ask? 2 things. Crock pots, and all. things. pumpkin.

Truth is, I break out the crock pot year round, but it rarely even gets put away this time of year. I love soups, chilies, and roasts, but I decided to try a recipe I would normally do on the stove, in a crock pot! This one is super easy, my friends. If you love Thai food like I do, you already know there are about a thousand ingredients in each recipe, most that I don’t normally carry in my pantry. SO here ya go. Thai peanut chicken. In a crock pot. 7 ingredients. You’re welcome.

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken

1/2 cup almond butter (you can use PB too, I just perfect almond)

1/2 onion, diced

1/4 cup Tamari  (or soy) sauce

1/2 cup chicken broth

1/2 T cumin

1 lime, juiced

1/2 t crushed red pepper

Mix together PB, tamari, chicken broth, and cumin in a bowl. Pour into crock pot, then add uncooked chicken. Squeeze in lime juice, and add peppers and onion. Cook on low for 6 hours.

I had every intention of serving this over some greens, with a sesame ginger dressing, but we ate it over brown rice instead. Crushed up some peanuts, and added some cilantro on top for a true Thai feel.

It was delish! I went back for thirds seconds!
photo (6)

Now, on to dessert. We have a get together tonight, and the hostess asked me to bring dessert. I figured with is being 37 degrees today, something ‘fall-ish’ was a must. I do love pumpkin flavored desserts, coffees, ice cream, you name it. So I decided to combine 2 favs. Pumpkin, and chocolate. I got this recipe years ago, and it was loaded with flour, both white sugar, and brown sugar, and lots of butter. So I made a few adjustments. Keep in mind, I haven’t tried these yet. The verdict will some tomorrow. Stay tuned tomorrow for the recipe and how my taste testers rated my final product!

Leave a Reply

